We now have the ability to merge duplicate contacts in Command! You can select two contacts, in the Contacts Applet, choose the contact you want to keep, and the system will merge the information from the other contact into the primary.
Team members with Enhanced or Unlimited permissions have the ability to select and merge any two contacts in the team Command account. That means you have to be very purposeful here. If you merge a contact a team member owns and select it to be the one that is merged (and lost), they will lose access to that contact.
Before you start merging contacts, it's important to know how the data will merge. Empty fields will be populated with the information from the other contact. Some of the data will truly merge (tags, notes), with you not losing the information. Some information from the other contact will be merged, but moved from the "Primary" spot (contact information), and some information will be lost totally if both contacts have that field populated (description).
This is a quick and easy process, with the ability to see how the data will merge before completing the action. Once this is done, the information from the other contact will merge with the primary, and the other contact will be permanently deleted (with no way to undo).
To merge duplicate contacts in Command:
1. Log in to https://agent.kw.com with your KW login credentials.
2. Click your name, at the top right of the page, and ensure that your team is selected, not your personal account.
3. Click on the Contacts icon, , on the left side of the page.
4. Select the contacts you want to merge by clicking the check box to the left of their names.
5. Click in the Select Bulk Action drop-down, above the Name column, then select Merge.
6. Next, choose the contact you want to keep, then click Continue, at the bottom right of the screen.
- While you are looking to see which one to keep, you can click Show More, at the bottom of the screen, to see more information about both contacts.
There are a few reasons why a contact cannot be chosen as the contact to to merge (and lose):
The system will prevent you from selecting contacts in these situations as the one to merge (and lose) and will let you know why. If both contacts are in any of these situations, you won't be able to merge the contacts until you take action on at least one of the contacts.
7. Finally, there is a review step which will show you a high-level view of how the data will merge. Once you are sure about your selection and ready to merge (which will cause the other contact to be deleted without the ability to undo) click Merge & Delete Duplicate.